Windrush: Songs in a Strange Land

Fri 1 Jun - Sun 21 Oct 2018

Welcomed by some as ‘Sons of Empire.’ Vilified by those spreading fears of a ‘black invasion.’ 70 years since the Empire Windrush carried hundreds of migrants to London, hear the Caribbean voices behind the 1940s headlines. Why did people come? What did they leave behind? And how did they shape Britain?

Learn about the Jamaican feminist poet Una Marson, who became the first black woman employed by the BBC. Read Trinidadian J J Thomas’s scathing rebuttal of English colonialism. See the manuscripts of Andrea Levy’s novel Small Island and Benjamin Zephaniah’s poem What Stephen Lawrence Has Taught Us. And listen to the sounds of the Caribbean, from jazz and calypso to the speeches of Marcus Garvey and personal reflections from some of the first Caribbean nurses to join the NHS.

Enslavement. Colonialism. Rebellion.

Revisit 1948 and explore how the Windrush story is much more than the dawn of British multiculturalism it has come to represent.
More information on our learning programme to accompany the exhibition, including school workshops, teacher events and family activities.

More Camden Listings MORE

Camden Sun 20 Jan - Sun 23 Jun, 2019

No Direction Home Standup Night

In 2018, CPT, Counterpoints Arts and award-winning comedian Tom Parry (Pappy’s; Badults; The Lost Disc) launched the No…

Camden Tue 19 March 2019

Made in (India) Britain

Since leaving home in Birmingham, Rinkoo Barpaga has moved around England a lot, determined to find somewhere to…

Camden Tue 26 Mar, 2019 to Thu 28 Mar, 2019

We Owe You A Legacy

We Owe You a Legacy is a deeply felt, lyrical exploration of the way colonialism has infiltrated the…

Camden Wed 27 - Thu 28 March 2019

The Washing Up

With original songs and stories, The Washing Up takes an absurd look at the politics and practice of…

Camden Fri 29 Mar, 2019

Brexit Carnival

So this is the date – or is it? Join a lineup of crack CPT entertainers to commemorate,…

Camden Tue 2 Apr, 2019 to Sat 20 Apr, 2019

Elephant in the Room

Presented by Lanre Malaolu Michael, a young working-class black man from Hackney, seems to have a good life –…