Sheku Kanneh-Mason Plays Elgar

5 Oct 2019

The London Philharmonic Orchestra and Sheku Kanneh-Mason play works that evoke the magic of nature.

Jean Sibelius found a vast stillness in the endless forests of his native Finland, while an ocean voyage prompted visions of classical myth and elemental power.

Mälkki begins this concert with Sibelius’s warmest tone-poem and ends it with his gentlest symphony: in between come two very different visions of nature from two British masters.

Fresh sea air blows through every bar of Britten’s youthful Frank Bridge Variations.

And Edward Elgar retreated to rural Sussex to write his Cello Concerto, a work whose haunted poetry – as Sheku Kanneh-Mason (2016 BBC Young Musician of the Year) well demonstrates – takes on a fresh meaning for each generation.

London Philharmonic Orchestra
Susanna Malkki conductor
Sheku Kanneh-Mason cello


Sibelius: The Oceanides
Elgar: Cello Concerto
Britten: Variations on a theme of Frank Bridge, Op.10
Sibelius: Symphony No.6 in D minor

More Lambeth Listings MORE

Lambeth Thursday 20 June - Saturday 6 July

Everything I Own

Errol lost his Dad last year. Listening to his old man’s Spotify playlist, he remembers his Dad’s passion…

Lambeth Monday 15 - Saturday 27 July

Housemates Returns: Before I Go

Follow Ajani, a young boy who tragically dies and gets stuck in limbo and forced to undergo overcoming…