Ibram X Kendi and Keisha N Blain: A history of African America

Wed, 14 Apr 2021, 19:00 BST

Join us for a livestreamed event with Ibram X Kendi and Keisha N Blain, to discuss their new history of African America, Four Hundred Souls.

Co-curated by Kendi, the New York Times bestselling author of How To Be an Antiracist and historian and writer Blain, Four Hundred Souls brings together 90 leading Black voices, to tell the collective and individual stories of African Americans over the last 400 years.

This powerful, compelling collection begins with the arrival of the first African slave ship, the White Lion, on the shores of mainland America in 1619, and takes us to the present day and the Black Lives Matter movement. Through historical essays, evocative short stories and personal vignettes, it reclaims the untold stories of ordinary people and offers new perspectives on towering historical icons, taking the reader on a remarkable journey through the inhuman oppression, struggles and stunning achievements of African Americans.

Kendi and Blain will be in conversation with the Guardian’s Nesrine Malik, and will be taking your questions in real time.

Running time: 60 minutes

If you live in the United Kingdom, you can purchase a ticket with a copy of Four Hundred Souls at checkout for the special combined price of £20.00 including postage and packing (RRP £20.00).

This event will be hosted on a third-party live streaming platform BlueJeans, please refer to their privacy policy before purchasing a ticket to the event. After registering, please refer to your confirmation email for access to the event.

If you require closed captions to be available on this event notify us on your booking form when making your purchase.

This event is being streamed globally.

7pm BST | 8pm CEST | 11am PDT | 2pm EDT

Or see this time zone converter to check your local live streaming time.

If you are unable to join at the time of streaming, this event will be available to watch on demand in the days following. A link to the recording will be sent to all ticket holders.

More ONLINE EVENT Listings MORE

Events in Greater London March 9, 2021- June 22, 2021 Tue, 17:30 - 19:00 BST

VIRTUAL Black Abolitionist Tour of London

90min virtual walking tour of London, highlighting 6 sites where African American activists made an important impact on…

ONLINE EVENT March 23, 2021 - August 31, 2021

Windrush Conferences ‘FREETALK’

Preston Windrush Generation and Descendants Presents… FreeTalk Windrush Conference ‘FreeTalk’ for sometime has become a successful place where…

Events in Greater London April 2, 2021-November 5, 2021

BLACK LONDON WOMEN’S VOICES

We are SISTERS. We are STRONG WHEN TOGETHER. We SHINE. We RISE as one. LETS TALK Calling all…