The National Theatre’s new musical Hex based on Sleeping Beauty has just released a highlights recording  

The National Theatre has today released a highlights recording for the new musical Hex, a vividly original retelling of Sleeping Beauty, that opened for previews on 4 December in the Olivier theatre.

It was confirmed however yesterday that performances of Hex have been cancelled until 28 December due to company illness. The production runs until 22 January 2022.


Rosalie Craig plays the fairy in this vividly original retelling of Sleeping Beauty: a mythic, big-hearted musical that goes beyond the waking kiss.

Deep in the wood, a lonely fairy longs for someone to bless. When she is summoned to the palace to help the princess sleep, her dream turns into a nightmare and her blessing becomes a curse. Soon, she is plunged into a frantic, hundred-year quest to somehow make everything right.

Hex: Highlights from the National Theatre production will be released by Broadway Records and available on all major digital music retailers from today.

The 12 songs from the musical include Sixteen, Probably, In the Middle, Make It All Good, Prince Bert, Hello and On the Inside.  

The composer Jim Fortune said: “I’m enormously proud to share the songs from the magical world of Hex, written and produced during the most testing times for our theatres. The songs are performed with such generosity and soul by our musicians and actors, and I hope they give you joy, and a warm Fairy glow in your heart.”

The cast is led by Tamsin Carroll as Queenie, Rosalie Craig as Fairy, Michael Elcock as Bert, and Kat Ronney as Rose, alongside Daisy Maywood as Regina, Shaq Taylor as Rex, Sargon Yelda as Smith/Smith-Smith.

They are joined by Delroy Atkinson, Christopher Akrill, Esme Bacalla-Hayes, Madeline Charlemagne, Ebony Clarke, Sonya Cullingford, Hanna Dimtsu, Tamsin Dowsett, Joe Foster, Ben Goff, Eleanor Kane, Kody Mortimer, and Joseph Perouse.

Rufus Norris directs with music by Jim Fortune, book by Tanya Rounder, lyrics by Rufus Norris, designs by Katrina Lindsay and choreography by Jade Hackett.

Orchestrations by Simon Hale, music supervision and vocal arrangements by Marc Tritschler, music direction by Tarek Merchant, lighting design by Paul Anderson, choreography by Jade Hackett with consultant choreography by Bill Dealer, sound design by Simon Baker and video design by Ash Woodward.

Hex: Highlights from the National Theatre production was recorded at The Warehouse, Waterloo in November 2021, performed by the Hex company alongside the Hex band.

The band is Tarek Merchant (music director) on keys, Cat Beveridge (associate music director) on keys 2, harmonium and celeste, David Delarre on electric guitar, acoustic guitars and banjo, Jo Nichols and Adam Higgs on upright and electric bass, Joley Cragg on kit and percussion, Nick Pynn on guitar, violin, mandocello and tiple, Howard McGill on flute, piccolo, clarinet, bass clarinet and baritone saxophone, Nathaniel Cross on trombone and bass trombone and Ros Stephen on violin, viola and mandolin.

Supported by the Garfield Weston Foundation through the Weston Culture Fund. The reopening of the Olivier theatre is generously supported by Areté Foundation / Betsy & Ed Cohen.

The development of new music theatre is supported by the Genesis Foundation through the Genesis Music Theatre Programme.

The music is available on all major digital music retailers at