How Black literature changed Britain

Monday 8 November 2021

For Black History Month the British Library has created a new timeline, exploring the rich history of Black British literature through around 50 key texts. From Olaudah Equiano’s powerful account of his enslavement in the Americas to Andrea Levy’s story of the Windrush generation, Small Island, from 18th century poet Phllis Wheatley to Michaela Coel’s Chewing Gum Dreams, these books include celebrated contemporary stories and many overlooked classics.

 

Join our panel, chaired by Guardian journalist Joseph Harker, reader in English Literature and Drama, Deidre Osborne and writer and activist, Benjamin Zephaniah as they celebrate the groundbreaking authors writing today and explore the rich Black literary tradition that precedes them. Further speakers to be announced.

This event is produced in partnership with The British Library. Find out more about the Black literature timeline here.

Running time: 60 minutes

This event will be hosted on a third-party live streaming platform Notified, please refer to their privacy policy and terms and conditions before purchasing a ticket to the event. After registering, please refer to your confirmation email for access to the event.

Closed captions will be available for this event. To make use of this function, click the globe icon at the bottom of your screen once you have logged in to the event.

This event is being streamed globally.

8pm GMT | 9pm CET | 12pm PST | 3pm EST

Or see this time zone converter to check your local live streaming time.

If you are unable to join at the time of streaming, this event will be available to watch on demand in the days following. A link to the recording will be sent to all ticket holders.

More Online Events Listings MORE

Online Events Wednesday 24 July

An African History of Africa

Africa’s history has long been dominated by western narratives of slavery and colonialism, or simply ignored.   Join…