Cleveland Watkiss: The Great Jamaican Songbook

Cleveland will be celebrating Jamaica’s long history of pioneering musical sounds. He and his band will bring to life some of the greatest songs written by Jamaican legends from mento, ska and reggae to dub and roots.

Cleveland Watkiss is one of the most celebrated British Jazz vocalists of his generation. He won the Ivor Novello award for innovation in 2021, the Boisdale Music Award as Best Jazz Artist of the Year 2022 and has been awarded an MBE for his services to music.


With classic tracks from legendary artists including Gregory Isaacs, Dennis Brown and Delroy Wilson, The Great Jamaican Songbook tells poignant stories about the times and the culture, with a deep and infectious rhythm.

The band are a who’s who of celebrated UK jazz, pop, reggae and funk legends, each with their own strong reputation both within these scenes and way beyond.
Visit How to book for our concessionary discount policy.

A booking fee of 8% will apply to purchases made by telephone or online.


‘A hard-hitting performance that tapped deep into roots Reggae’ – Marlbank

‘From the bone-shaking power of Fatman Sound System to the sweet-toned vocals of 1970s reggae greats such as Gregory Isaacs, Dennis Brown and Delroy Wilson, reggae is an integral part of Watkiss’ musical DNA, and the Songbook pays fulsome homage both to the music’s golden period and to his own Jamaican roots.’ – The Artsdeck

‘An icon of UK jazz’ – Marlbank
‘Best Male Jazz Singer in England’ – Evening Standard

Book Ticket here

Date: Saturday 3 June, 7:30pm

Venue: The Tung Auditorium, Liverpool

Tickets: £ 23.00 (Concs. £18.40) + booking fee


  • Cleveland Watkiss vocals
  • Byron Wallen trumpet
  • Wilf Diamond trombone
  • Orphy Robinson keys
  • Phil Ramocon keys
  • Alan Weekes guitars
  • Delroy Murray bass
  • Carl Robinson drums